Chapter one

I decided to move to Huntington Beach right after I graduated from university. And here I was, six months later, 21 years old. I worked as a waitress at a small restaurant and owned a beach house that I barely could afford. But I survived and I was happy. I moved here because of the situation at home, I didn’t fit in… But everything changed when I met him…

 

Amy's POV
I sat in the sand, on the beach, just a hundred meters from my house, it was a warm evening and you could smell the salty water. I had my headphones in and was listening to music. My dog Rocky sat beside me, he is a 2 year old German Shepherd, and it looked like he was wondering if something was wrong with me today. He always had a special look on his face when I came home angry or upset from work, my boss had forced me to do all the things I shouldn’t do at work today, like clean all the toilets and polish the windows. The funny part is that I am a waitress, not the maid. It looked like this almost every day. My boss was an ass, and I was used to it but I started to get tired of taking all of his shit. And Rocky was the only thing that could cheer me up nowadays. Especially when I had a hard time finding friends, I’ve lived here for about six months, I lived in London earlier and no one seemed to like me so far. Sure I wasn’t the most talkative girl and I had a hard time trusting people, but if I found a person that I really cared about, I would never let him or her go. Otherwise I was a normal girl, brown haired with blue eyes, around 5'3". Besides for work I liked to photograph, it was one of my hobbies and I tried to do that as much as possible, but I worked the toughest hours and I was always really tired when I came home. It meant that I didn’t have much time for the photographing.


I lit a cigarette and watched the waves die in the sand. I loved this; it was warm although it was evening. I could sit here all night sometimes, just to enjoy the fresh and salty air, to look at the stars and spend some quality time with Rocky. He prefers to run at the beach and always wanted me to throw a ball or a stick to him. He was so happy and enjoyed life to its fully. Almost every day looked the same; I went for work, came home angry or upset, took a shower, went to the beach with Rocky for a couple of hours and then I slept until the story repeated itself. We had a perfect life together, at least I thought so. But we’re happy, and it's the only thing that matters to me. I loved life even if I just survived with the money I got from my job. But if I wouldn’t work there, I would have to move back to London.


I noticed that Rocky started to look and growl at something or someone behind me. It wasn't common for him; he was always an obedient and quiet dog and he do knows that I hate when he barks. But I didn't bother about it because of my shitty day and fell back in my own world with the music in my ears; it was probably just a shadow he growled at or a stupid duck. But three seconds later I felt something on my shoulder and Rocky started to run to me and barked loud. I turned hastily and tried to slap away the thing that were touching my shoulder and when I turned I saw that it stood a tall and handsome man behind me with a cigarette in his hand. He had black spiky hair, deep brown eyes and the prettiest smile I have ever seen in my life. Before he could say anything I held up one finger to quiet him and stopped Rocky from attacking the man who apparently didn’t want to hurt me, Rocky stopped immediately at my signal and went for a duck chase when he saw that I was safe. When Rocky didn't bother anymore the man finally asked:

"Do you have a lighter I can borrow? I kind of forgot mine a home."

 "Yeah of course I have, here" I said and held up a lighter. He took the lighter and lit his cigarette.

 

He asked me if it was okay to sit down next to me, and of course I said yes, so far he hadn’t tried to kill me. And I didn’t think that he would do that either.


"Do you live here or are you on vacation? I haven’t seen you around." he asked me.

"I do live here, just a few meters away, but I’m usually at work or on the beach so it doesn’t surprise me that you haven’t seen me around. And I’m guessing that you live here."

"Yes, I live a couple of minutes by with car, I'm Brian by the way" he said and held out his hand.

"I’m Amy" I said and shook his hand.

 

We sat there in silence for what felt like a pretty long time, and it started to feel a bit awkward. But after a minute or so he broke the ice.


"It's a beautiful dog you have, what’s his or her name?" he asked.

"His name is Rocky, and it’s a male. He is the most perfect dog in the world. He’s a really good friend, my only one to be honest. But that’s not so weird; I’ve only lived here for about six month and I’m not the most talkative person in the world.” I told him and finished with a small laugh.

“It’s hard to believe that.”

“That his name is Rocky or that he is a male?” I asked confused.

“Ha-ha, no that you don’t have any other friends than Rocky, and I do think that you are talkative!”


It was the first time for long anyone made me blush and feel flattered. No one had been this nice to me for ages. I just sat there and looked at his face, it was something about him that I recognized but I couldn’t figure out what it was. I didn’t see that many details of his face, just a few, like his dark brown eyes that could melt any girls, his perfect shaped lips and the perfectly spiky hair. I only had the moon as a light, and his eyes were amazing. He snapped me out of the daydream, or should I say the staring by asking some questions about Rocky, what breed Rocky is and things like that.


“So what do you think about Long Beach then?” He asked me.

“I love it; it is a perfect place to live in.” I told him.

“Do you live here alone with Rocky or do you live with someone?”

“It is only me and Rocky, I am not girlfriend material if you put it like that. I haven’t had a serious relationship to be honest.” I said.

“How come?” He asked, “You are kind, caring and you seem to be a really nice girl.”

“Oh thanks.” I said and blushed, “But no guys don’t seem to like me in that way.”

“That is weird; you are a really nice girl.”


We talked for a long time and after a while he said: "I have talked to you for about an hour and half and I hope that I'm not too straightforward, but can I have your number? I would love to take you out for a cup of coffee some day and to get to know you better!"


"That sounds really nice, give me your phone so can I write it directly in there." I said and gave him my number.

“Let me put in my number in your as well, then you know who it is that calls you.” He said and I gave him my phone. He seemed to notice my background on my phone; it was a picture of me and Rocky, one of the few pictures I smiled on. And he smirked when he saw it, “There you go, see you later Amy.”



FrökenTV, bloggen om tv och film säger:

snygg header

Svar: Åh tack du <3
Amanda

2013-08-02 | 19:38:13 | Bloggadress: http://efji.blogg.se/



Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (Endast för mig!)

Bloggadress:

Kommentar: